2007 Srinivasa Ramanujan Prize

We take pleasure in announcing that the 2007 Srinivasa Ramanujan Prize will be awarded to

Professor Jorge Lauret Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, Argentina

The Prize is in recognition of his outstanding contributions to differential geometry and group representation. They include his (negative) answer to a question posed by Selberg in 1956. In recent years, Lauret has made significant progress in the classification of non-compact Einstein manifolds. In the process, he introduced new and powerful tools to the field.

The Prize has been supported by the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund through the participation of the International Mathematical Union.

Ramanujan Prize Selection Committee
Bernt Øksendal
Jacob Palis
Peter Sarnak
Le Dung Trang (Chairman)
Srinivasa Varadhan

November 9, 2007